Migration scholars, journalists, & orgs on Twitter

A few weeks ago I tweeted a list of migration historians who are on Twitter. Based on the feedback I received I thought it would be a good idea to publish an expanded set of lists. Below are lists of

  1. migration historians
  2. other migration scholars/researchers/lawyers/policy analysts
  3. activists, allies, and advocacy groups/organizations
  4. migration journalists/writers/photographers/publications
  5. academic groups/centers/institutes and policy/research organizations whose work focuses on migration
  6. migration blogs/bloggers

I am sure I have unintentionally forgotten many people, groups, and organizations, but I plan on updating the list periodically, so please tweet at me or email me if you would like to be added, or know someone who would. (Also, let me know if, for whatever reason, you would like to be removed.) You can follow these lists on Twitter or check this page for the most up-to-date information.

(1) Migration #twitterstorians (alphabetical, by last name)

  1. José Alamillo – @josealamillo
  2. Carlos Alemán – @carlosalemanjr
  3. Milo Alvarez – @MiloAlvarezCCHN
  4. Sunil Amrith – @sunilamrith
  5. Ellen Berg – @Ellen_Berg_
  6. Benjamin Bryce – @BenjaminBryce2
  7. Gerry Cadava – @gerry_cadava
  8. Julio Capo, Jr. – @JulioCapoJr
  9. Marcia Chatelain – @DrMChatelain
  10. Ian Delahanty – @IanDelahanty
  11. Lori Flores – @lori_flori
  12. Donna Gabaccia – @drg1949
  13. Matt Garcia – @mattjgarcia68
  14. David-James Gonzales – @djgonzoPhD
  15. Adam Goodman – @adamsigoodman
  16. Carly Goodman – @car1ygoodman
  17. Tom Goyens – @TomGoyens
  18. Julie Greene – @Greeneland
  19. Romeo Guzmán – @pochogreatermx
  20. Hidetaka Hirota – @hidehirota
  21. Mike Innis-Jiménez – @innisjimenez
  22. Karl Jacoby – @karl_jacoby
  23. Kevin Kenny – @kgmkenny
  24. Erika Lee – @prof_erikalee
  25. Rosina Lozano – @RosinaLozano
  26. Leo Lucassen – @Leolucassen
  27. Gráinne McEvoy – @GrainneMcEvoy
  28. Katherine O’Flaherty – @Katherineofl
  29. Arissa Oh – @arissaoh
  30. Yesika Ordaz – @OrdazYesika
  31. Israel Pastrana – @BrazosDeOro
  32. Gunther Peck – @GuntherPeck
  33. Stephen Pitti – @Latinohistory
  34. Yuridia Ramírez – @yuriramirez89
  35. Jacob Remes – @jacremes
  36. Lauren Stokes – @laurenstokes
  37. Evan Taparata – @etaparata
  38. Hilda Vázquez – @HildaVzquez1
  39. Elizabeth Venditto – @lizvenditto
  40. Patrick Weil – @patrickweil1
  41. Julie Weise – @JulieWeise
  42. Philip Wolgin – @pwolgin
  43. Elliot Worsfold – @ElliotWorsfold
  44. Ellen Wu – @ellendwu
  45. Elliott Young – @eyoung1967
  46. Verónica Zapata – @VeroZapataRiv

(2) Other migration scholars, researchers, lawyers, & policy analysts (alphabetical, by last name)

  1. Leisy Abrego – @AbregoLeisy
  2. Alexandre Afonso – @alexandreafonso
  3. Edward Alden – @edwardalden
  4. Gracia Amador – @GraciaAmador
  5. Jill Anderson – @jillanderso
  6. Ruben Andersson – @ruben_andersson
  7. Efrat Arbel – @earbel
  8. Sébastien Bachelet – @seb_bachelet
  9. Mina Barahimi – @MinaBarahimi
  10. Lesley Bartlett – @LesleyBartlett_
  11. Marie-Laure Basilien – @mlbasilien
  12. Alexander Betts – @alexander_betts
  13. Monish Bhatia – @DrMonishBhatia
  14. David Bier – @myfreesociety
  15. Mary Bosworth – @MFBosworth
  16. Denise Brennan – @DeniseEBrennan
  17. Mario Bruzzone – @Mario_Bruzzone
  18. Edelina Burciaga – @emburciaga
  19. Cara Caddoo – @CaraCaddoo
  20. Stephanie Canizales – @StephCanizales
  21. Jørgen Carling – @jorgencarling
  22. Peter Catron – @petercatron
  23. Karma Chávez – @queermigrations
  24. Margaret May Chin – @margaretmchin
  25. Phillip Connor – @pc_connor
  26. David Cook-Martín – @davidcookmartin
  27. Rodolfo Cordova – @chikmigrante
  28. Hector Cordero – @HCorderoGuzman
  29. Alvaro Corral – @alvarojcorral
  30. Adam Cox – @adambcox
  31. Heaven Crawley – @heavencrawley
  32. Jeff Crisp – @JFCrisp
  33. César Cuauhtémoc – @crimmigration
  34. Fiona David – @fiona_david
  35. Erica Dobbs – @edobbs5215
  36. Hein de Haas – @heindehaas
  37. Jason De León – @jason_p_deleon
  38. Jean-Philippe Dedieu – @jphdedieu
  39. Natalia del Cid – @delcidnatalia
  40. Alexandra Délano – @ale_delano
  41. Neda Deneva – @NedaliDenali
  42. Claire Dwyer – @cldwyer
  43. Itzel Eguiluz – @ItzelEguiluz
  44. Walter Ewing – @WalterAEwing
  45. Sujatha Fernandes – @SujathaTF
  46. David FitzGerald – @FitzGeraldUCSD
  47. Alyshia Galvez – @alyshiagalvez
  48. Jesús García – @jezuzgarc
  49. Ben Gidley – @bengidley
  50. Terri Givens – @TerriGivens
  51. Tanya Golash-Boza – @tanyaboza
  52. Luin Goldring – @migrantologa
  53. Alfonso Gonzales – @ProfeAG
  54. Roberto Gonzales – @RGGonzales1
  55. Amparo González – @orapmagon
  56. Marcela González – @marcela_ny
  57. Elzbieta Gozdziak – @EGozdziak
  58. Amy Grenier – @argrenier
  59. Melanie BE Griffiths – @MBEGriffiths
  60. Lirio Gutiérrez – @lirio_gutierrez
  61. Leila Hadj-Abdou – @LeilaHadjAbdou
  62. Rebecca Hamlin – @hamlinr1
  63. Randall Hansen – @ProfRAHansen
  64. Lauren Heidbrink – @LaurenHeidbrink
  65. Calvin Ho – @calvinhyj
  66. Tamar Jacoby – @tamarjacoby
  67. Reece Jones – @reecejhawaii
  68. Oula Kadhum – @OulaKadhum
  69. Anil Kalhan – @kalhan
  70. Elizabeth Kennedy – @EGKennedySD
  71. Yuri Keum – @rozyuri
  72. Shaden Khallaf – @shadenkhallaf
  73. Sin Yee Koh – @koh_sy
  74. Matthew Kolken – @mkolken
  75. Daniel Kowalski – @dkbib
  76. Prerna Lal-Schubiner – @prernaplal
  77. Anna Law – @UnlawfulEntries
  78. Jennifer Lee – @JLeeSoc
  79. Steven Liao – @stevenliaotw
  80. Marisa Macari – @MarisaJMacari
  81. Susan Martin – @isimsmartin
  82. Sarah Mayorga-Gallo – @MayorgaGallo
  83. Paul McDaniel – @pnmcdaniel
  84. Cyrus Mehta – @cyrusmehta
  85. Grace Meng – @grace_meng
  86. Cecilia Menjívar – @ceciliaTempe
  87. Ulises Moreno-Tabarez – @MigrantSpecters
  88. Daniel Naujoks – @danaujoks
  89. Mike Nicholson – @mikednicholson1
  90. Mark Noferi – @ProfNofe
  91. Natalie Novick – @NTNovick
  92. Alex Nowrasteh – @AlexNowrasteh
  93. Mirta Ojito – @MirtaOjito
  94. Umut Özsu – @Umut_Ozsu
  95. Angelo Paparelli – @angelopaparelli
  96. Manuel Pastor – @Prof_MPastor
  97. Caitlin Patler – @CaitlinPatler
  98. Iliana Perez – @iliana_gperez
  99. William Perez – @williamperezphd
  100. Amanda Peterson Beadle – @AmandaBeadle
  101. Nicola Phillips – @phillipsnicola1
  102. Karthick Ramakrishnan – @karthickr
  103. Mario Rios Perez – @mriosperez
  104. Heather Rolfe – @Heather_Rolfe
  105. Lisseth Rojas-Flores – @LRojasFlores
  106. Gilberto Rosas – @grosas2
  107. Martin Ruhs – @MartinRuhs
  108. Christopher Salas-Wright – @salaswright
  109. Fred Sánchez – @fredricsanchez
  110. Andrew Selee – @SeleeAndrew
  111. Jessica Simes – @jsssms
  112. Jeremy Slack – @slackjeremy
  113. Nando Sigona – @nandosigona
  114. Audrey Singer – @audsinger
  115. Eleanor Staniforth – @E_Staniforth
  116. Marcelo Suarez Orozco – @msoimmigration
  117. John Tirman – @JohnTirman
  118. Ethel Tungohan – @PhDerping
  119. Gerasimos Tsourapas – @gtsourapas
  120. Jess Valenzuela – @jitzelv
  121. Carlos Vargas-Silva – @CVar_Sil
  122. Rafael Vásquez – @rafavasquezphd
  123. Yolanda Vazquez – @ProfYVazquez
  124. Marcia Vera – @MarciaVeraE
  125. Shoba Wadhia – @shobawadhia
  126. Vivek Wadhwa – @wadhwa
  127. Harsha Walia – @HarshaWalia
  128. Christine Wheatley – @mc_wheatley
  129. Ben Winograd – @benwinograd
  130. Tom Wong – @twong002
  131. Guillermo Yrizar Barbosa – @gyrizar
  132. Rene Zenteno – @rzenteno

(3) Activists, allies, and advocacy groups/organizations (in no particular order)

  1. The NIYA – @TheNIYA
  2. DreamActivist – @DreamAct
  3. United We Dream – @UNITEDWEDREAM
  4. Sin Fronteras (México) – @Sinfronteras_1
  5. Acción Migrante (México) – @AccionMigrante
  6. APOFAM (México) – @APOFAM
  7. IMUMI (México) – @IMUMIDF
  8. COAMI (México) – @_coami
  9. Las Patronas (México) – @LasPatronas_dh
  10. Migración #YoSoy132 (México) – @Migracion132
  11. #I Am Immigration – @iamimmigration
  12. La 72 (México) – @La72Tenosique
  13. Albergue Tochan (México) – @AlbergueTochan
  14. Los Otros Dreamers (México) – @otrosdreamers
  15. Detention Watch Network – @DetentionWatch
  16. Juntos – @Vamos_Juntos_
  17. HIAS Pennsylvania – @HIASPA
  18. The National Domestic Workers Alliance – @domesticworkers
  19. International Detention Coalition – @idcmonitor
  20. Dream Activist Pennsylvania – @DreamActivistPA
  21. Define American – @DefineAmerican
  22. Centro de los Derechos del Migrante – @CDMigrante
  23. The Platform for International Cooperation on Undocumented Migrants (Europe) – @PICUM_post
  24. Reform Immigration for America – @RI4A
  25. America’s Voice – @americasvoice
  26. NDLON – @ndlon
  27. IYJL – @IYJL
  28. National Immigration Forum – @ImmPolitic
  29. Migrant Voice (UK) – @MigrantVoiceUK
  30. Border Network for Human Rights – @BNHR
  31. National Guestworker Alliance – @NGAdignity
  32. Dream in Mexico – @dreaminmexico
  33. Migreurop – @Migreurop
  34. Immigrants’ List – @ImmigrantsList1
  35. Migración Lavapies – @migrapies
  36. Migrahack – @Migrahack
  37. Border Angels – @Border_Angels
  38. Migra Zoom – @MigraZoom
  39. Presente.Org – @PresenteOrg
  40. Favianna Rodriguez – @favianna
  41. Welcoming America – @WelcomingUSA
  42. Tania A. Unzueta – @_LaTania
  43. Juan Escalante – @JuanSaaa
  44. Chris Newman – @newman_chris
  45. Soy Migrante – @smigrante
  46. Vía Migrante – @viamigrante
  47. Padre Alejandro Solalinde – @padresolalinde
  48. Libby Kalmbach – @libbykalmbach
  49. No More Deaths – @NoMoreDeaths
  50. David Bennion – @dcbennion
  51. Families for Freedom – @familiesfreedom
  52. Nisha Agarwal – @nishasagarwal
  53. Victor Narro – @NarroVictor
  54. Carecen LA – @Caracen_LA
  55. Catholic Legal Immigrant Network, Inc. – @cliniclegal

(4) Migration journalists/writers/photographers/publications (alphabetical, by last name/publication name)

  1. Mark Alvarez – @alvarezmark
  2. Gabriel Arana – @gabrielarana
  3. David Bacon – @photos4justice
  4. Brooke Binkowski – @brooklynmarie
  5. Aura Bogado – @aurabogado
  6. Levi Bridges – @levi_bridges
  7. Monica Campbell – @monica_campbell
  8. Cindy Carcamo – @theCindyCarcamo
  9. Damien Cave – @damiencave
  10. Russell Contreras – @RussContreras
  11. Cristina Costantini – @xtinatini
  12. Culture Strike – @CultureStrike
  13. Keith Dannemiller – @KDannemiller
  14. Melissa del Bosque – @MelissaLaLinea
  15. Sandra Dibble – @sandradibble
  16. Susan Farriss – @susanfarriss
  17. Elise Foley – @elisefoley
  18. Kristopher Fortin – @lapaperboy
  19. Seth Freed Wessler – @SethFW
  20. Howard French – @hofrench
  21. Juan Gastelum – @juangastelum
  22. Alan Gomez – @alangomez
  23. Ian Gordon – @id_gordon
  24. Harriet Grant – @harrietgrant
  25. Jordana Gustafson – @JordyGusto
  26. Ted Hesson – @tedhesson
  27. Maria Hinojosa – @Maria_Hinojosa
  28. Nathaniel Hoffman – @paleomedia
  29. Amy Isackson – @BorderAmy
  30. Emma Jacobs – @ecjacobs
  31. Janet Jarman – @JanetJarman
  32. Angela Kocherga – @AKochergaBorder
  33. Esther Lee – @estherindc
  34. Dara Lind – @DLind
  35. Kate Linthicum – @katelinthicum
  36. Elizabeth Llorente – @Liz_Llorente
  37. Michel Marizco – @borderreporter
  38. Pilar Marrero – @PilarMarrero
  39. Óscar Martínez – @CronistaOscar
  40. Michael Matza – @MichaelMatza1
  41. Jennifer Medina – @jennymedina
  42. Sarah Menkedick – @SarahMenkedick
  43. México Migrante – @mexico_migrante
  44. S. Mitra Kalita – @mitrakalita
  45. Sonia Nazario – @SLNazario
  46. Franco Ordoñez – @FrancoOrdonez
  47. Erica Pearson – @ericalpearson
  48. Encarni Pindado – @encarpin
  49. Roque Planas – @RoqPlanas
  50. Julia Preston – @JuliaPrestonNYT
  51. Jorge Ramos – @jorgeramosnews
  52. Jill Replogle – @jillrep
  53. Maria Sacchetti – @mariasacchetti
  54. Benjy Sarlin – @BenjySarlin
  55. Erin Siegal – @ErinSiegal
  56. Kristy Siegfried – @klsiegfried
  57. Dianne Solis – @disolis
  58. Claudia Torrens – @ClaudiaTorrens
  59. Perla Trevizo – @Perla_Trevizo
  60. Eileen Truax – @EileenTruax
  61. Jose Antonio Vargas – @joseiswriting
  62. John Washington – @EndDeportations

(5) Academic groups/centers/institutes and policy/research organizations whose work focuses on migration (in no particular order)

  1. The Center for Migration Studies (New York) – @CMSnewyork
  2. International Migration Institute (Oxford, UK) – @IntMigInstitute
  3. Seminario Permanente sobre Migración Internacional (COLEF, México) – @Sepmigoficial
  4. Migration Policy Institute (Washington, DC) – @MigrationPolicy
  5. Transactional Records Access Clearinghouse (TRAC, Syracuse University) – @TRACReports
  6. Migration Declassified/Migración Abierta (NSA Archive) – @migrationdocs
  7. The Center for the History of the New America (UMD-College Park) – @historynewam
  8. Center for Comparative Immigration Studies (UC-San Diego) – @CCIS_ucsd
  9. Center for U.S.-Mexican Studies (UC-San Diego) – @USMEXUCSD
  10. University of San Diego Trans-Border Institute (San Diego, CA) – @USDTBI
  11. Migrantólogos (México) – @migrantologos
  12. Post Deportation Human Rights Project (Boston College) – @PostDeportation
  13. Forced Migration Review (Oxford, UK) – @FMReview
  14. Border Criminologies (Oxford, UK) – @Bordercrim
  15. Refugee Studies Centre (Oxford, UK) – @refugeestudies
  16. Oxford Migration Society (Oxford, UK) – @OxfordMSS
  17. Migration Library (Switzerland) – @MigrationCenter
  18. Immigration Policy Center (Washington, DC) – @ImmPolicyCenter
  19. Center for American Progress Immigration (Washington, DC) – @CAPimmigration
  20. Center for Immigration Studies (Washington, DC) – @wwwCISorg
  21. Center for the Study of Immigrant Integration (USC) – @CSII_USC
  22. Harvard Immigration and Refugee Clinical Program (Harvard) – @HLS_Immigration
  23. National Immigration Law Center (LA, DC, SF) – @NILC_org
  24. American Immigration Lawyers Association (Washington, DC) – @AILANational
  25. Programa de Asuntos Migratorios (La Ibero, México) – @PRAMI_IBERO
  26. Migration Observatory (Oxford, UK) – @MigObs
  27. Princeton Center for Migration and Development – @PrincetonCMD
  28. The Institute for the Study of International Migration (Georgetown) – @ISIMGeorgetown
  29. Collaborative Research Network on Citizenship & Migration (LSA) – @CRNCitizMigr
  30. Immigrant Entrepreneurship (GHI) – @ImmigrantBios
  31. Ustedes Somos Nosotros (México) – @UstedesSomosNos
  32. UCLA Program on International Migration – @uclapim
  33. Estudios Fronterizos (México) – @EFronterizos
  34. Center for Comparative Immigration Studies (UCSD) – @ccisucsd
  35. Migration Research (University of Sheffield) – @SheffieldMRG
  36. Immigration History Research Center (University of Minnesota) – @UMN_IHRC
  37. Immigrant Stories (University of Minnesota) – @ImmigrantMN
  38. California Immigrant Policy Center – @CALimmigrant
  39. Immigration and Ethnic History Societey – @IEHS1965

(6) Migration blogs/bloggers (in no particular order)

  1. ImmigrationProf – @immprof
  2. Borderlands History (UT-El Paso) – @BorderlandsHist
  3. The Migrationist – @TheMigrationist
  4. Feet in 2 Worlds – @Fi2W
  5. Mundo Citizen – @mundocitizen
  6. The Asylumist – @asylumist
  7. Immigrant Movement International/Partido del Pueblo Migrante – @Immigrantmove
  8. My Documented Life – @Caro_doculife
  9. My Deportation – @mydeportation
  10. Migrantography – @migrantography
  11. Migrando – @MigrandoOrg
  12. Immigration Insight – @Immigration_In
  13. Frontera List – @Fronteralist
  14. Migration News – @MigrationNews1
  15. Voices of Migrants – @VoicesofMigrant
  16. Migration Diaries – @MaryEngleheart

Last updated: 5 November 2016

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s